Sunday Pulpit Series – The Seven Churches of Asia: 1

By February 5, 2017 March 24th, 2021 No Comments

Sunday Pulpit Series

The Seven Churches of Asia: 1
Rev. Robert Ampiah-Kwofi

The last book of the bible is Revelations. It is a peculiar book because it contains seven epistles written to seven churches, directly from Jesus Christ our Lord.
Revelation 2:1 NKJV
“To the angel of the church of Ephesus write,
‘These things says He who holds the seven stars in His right hand, who walks in the midst of the seven golden lampstands:”

•All the other epistles were written by various apostles, as they were inspired by the Holy Ghost.
•All the other epistles were written separately but in Revelations, we have seven epistles together.
•The epistles in Revelations, are also unique because they are part of a larger book. All the other epistles stand alone.
The seven churches of Asia Minor were in seven cities, Ephesus, Smyrna, Philadelphia, Thyatira, Laodicea, Pergamos and Sardis.
There are very few references to these seven churches in the rest of the bible.
Apostle Paul wrote a separate epistle to the Ephesians.
Ephesians 1:1-2a NKJV
“Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ by the will of God, To the saints who are in Ephesus, and faithful in Christ Jesus:”

Paul also wrote a letter to the Colossians, that he commanded should be read by the Laodicean believers.
Colossians 4:16 NKJV
“Now when this epistle is read among you, see that it is read also in the church of the Laodiceans, and that you likewise read the epistle from Laodicea.”

Paul had also written a separate letter directly to the Laodiceans, but we do not have that letter in the bible.
Jesus Christ sent His epistles to the seven churches to correct, encourage, commend, rebuke and warn the seven churches.

May you receive the “Rhema word” of God, as you go to church.


Author Tech

More posts by Tech

Leave a Reply